What happens in Vegas

My husband and I love to go to Vegas. Not because we are club hopping party people  but we love to try the great restaurants, drink a little, do some window shopping and go to the sports book to bet on the horse races and sports. Lately we have been staying at The Palazzo because we enjoy staying in the Prestige area but in 2012 we stayed at the Cosmopolitan and the view of the Bellagio fountains from our room was amazing.

Room with a View

Room with a View

Room with Nighttime View
Room with Nighttime View

Honestly this was the view from our room! Beautiful right?  And the room wasn’t as expensive as I thought it would be but probably because we went between Christmas and New Years.  Unfortunately on our way to Vegas I started getting sick with a sore throat and I ended up with the flu and going to the Walgreens Walk In Clinic (at the Palazzo, really convenient for any last minute items you may need) for a prescription.  Sounds great doesn’t it? =(  You won’t believe how many people you see in the cold and flu aisle in Vegas!

I did try a few old school boozy remedy drinks but unfortunately they didn’t help me but it was fun trying.  My husband also found a Tea Room at the Mandarin Hotel where I had the freshest and best tea I’ve ever had.

Mayan Hot Chocolate at the Wynn

Mayan Hot Chocolate at the Wynn

Some Whiskey for my sore throat at the Chandelier Bar at the Cosmopolitan

Some Whiskey for my sore throat at the Chandelier Bar at the Cosmopolitan

Afternoon Tea at the Mandarin Hotel

Afternoon Tea at the Mandarin Hotel

During the winter months one of the Cosmopolitan pools becomes an ice skating rink. It has an awesome view of the Strip and you can rent skates (or bring your own) and skate alongside the Vegas skyline.  If skating isn’t your thing you can just mingle around the fire pits, drink their special boozy hot chocolate and make your own smores too!

The Cosmopolitan Ice Skating Rink

The Cosmopolitan Ice Skating Rink

The Chandelier Bar at the Cosmopolitan is an absolutely beautiful classy bar to enjoy a glass a wine and people watch.  It’s a 3 level bar so there usually is plenty of room for a relaxing drink or two.

The Chandelier Bar at the Cosmpolitan

The Chandelier Bar at the Cosmopolitan

So even though I was sick during this Vegas trip it was still a really enjoyable time and I am so lucky that we get to go a few times a year since it is fairly close to where we live.

I guess I will call this PART ONE to WHAT HAPPENS IN VEGAS.  I’m not sure how many parts I will end up with but I hope you enjoy it as much as I do reliving it.

Sprinkle the Kindness

