This happened yesterday

I work in North San Diego County (in California) and yesterday several fires started in different parts of the county in a really short amount of time. When I left the office to go to lunch I saw 3 big bellows of smoke in 3 different directions and there was a rumor that the freeway I take to get home was going to be closed because of another fire down the way. At one time yesterday there were 8 or 9 fires going on! Talk about scary!!

Unfortunately there were a few people who left work early because their houses could possibly be affected by the fires. I left a tiny bit early because they did close the 15 freeway and it looked like a parking lot.  A friend at work was trying to give me directions on how to take back roads to go around the closure and then get on the freeway passed the closure. It was going to be confusing but I was going to do it.  Luckily I was listening to the local news on the radio and they mentioned that the freeway was now open so I took a few side streets and then got on the freeway. I got home about 1/2 hour later than usual so it wasn’t bad at all, especially when you think of the people who are TRULY affected by these fires.  And I also got goosebumps when I saw firetrucks from Los Angeles County on the freeway heading towards the fire to help San Diego. God bless those brave firefighters.

20140515-104046.jpg

 

20140515-104630.jpg

The above picture led to the picture below

20140515-104109.jpg

 

Today I found out that one person from our office was evacuated from their house and didn’t know yet if the house was OK. =(

Hope everyone stays safe – wherever you are!

XOXO

One thought on “This happened yesterday

  1. Oh my!! How scary! I hope your co-worker’s house is okay! EEek! I think that cocktail was well needed after sitting in that traffic! Stay safe, dear!!

Sprinkle the Kindness

